In 1239 millennia,i was entrirely in the field,used as spring and planting site.In 1650,Hasan Efendi bought a farm in the souht,a part of the Tac-ul vizier’s mausoleum,and turned it into a garden.He planted today’s pelit and plane trees.After he made it well-groomed,he gave it to the second Bostan Çelebi.
Bostan Çelebi donated this garden to the dergah and left his income to members of the dergah.The garden was cultivated every year and fruits,vegetables and other cereals were grown.So,the dergah earned income.After this date,the name of the garden became Dede Garden..
In October 29, 1923, additional new schools were opened with the proclamation of the Republic and new newspapers and magazines were started to be published. In Konya, as in the case of the whole country, primary, middle, high school and higher education was arranged by state administrations. Building schools and reading mobilizations began. the schools that educate teachers, technical and art schools, and higher schools have been renewed according to the needs of the country. The Ministry of Culture was established and this ministry was appointed for the protection of our Cultural and Natural Assets. In all cities, the Provincial Cultural Directorates to represent the Ministry were organized and the culture and art movements of the Republican period were systematized
Konya is on the Ottoman border in 1467.It was a frequen place. Yavus Sultan Selim,Kanuni Sultan Suleyman and second Murat stayed while they were going to war. Science, culture and art movements continued uninterruptedly. It was the center of famous poets, scholars, historians and philosophers. In this period, mosques, fountains, medresses were built. Konya Provincial Public Library was established in 1910 with the name of National Library for the first time in this period.
İzzet Koyunluoğlu, one of the well-known families of Konya, has built a special museum and library with historical works that have been collected for years in his house. Later, the museum and library that it was founded were donated to Konya Municipality. Archaeological and ethnographic artifacts are exhibited in the museum.
A.R.İzzet Koyunoğlu donated his museum, which he created with his personal efforts, between the famous museums and libraries of the world to the Municipality of Konya in 1973. For this reason, A. R. İzzet Koyunoğlu’s house was taken under protection and the environment was expropriated and the modern building of today’s 3433 m2 area was built. The museum was reorganized and opened for the second time on February 2, 1984 with the name of “Konya Metropolitan Municipality A. R. İzzet Koyunoğlu Museum and Library”.
The museum has been made up of various sections on two floors. The man, animal bust, stele and sculpture in the courtyard surrounding the building from four sides; headstones, bearers; stone and marble inscriptions from various periods; millstones, sarcophagi, made from terracotta.
The city was established after Malazgirt war Selcuk Turks got it(1076-1080). During the Capital of the Anatolian Selcuks State (1096-1277), the golden age of culture and art lives. The city collects famous scholars, philosophers, poets, Sufis, Hodja, Musikhisinas and other craftsmenof this period inside it. Bahaeddin Veled, Mevlâna Celaleddin, Kadu Burhaneddin, Kadi Sıraceddin, Sadreddin Konevi, Şahabeddin Sühreverdi and Muhyiddin Arabi, were settled in Konya. they made the city a cultural center with the works they gave.Especially Hz.Mevlana enlighted humanity by his ideas and philosophy. Nasreddin Hodja is a wise person who has been laughing and thinking, and continuing for centuries in the development of Konya’s culture and social life. During the Seljuk period, libraries were opened in Konya and major historical and cultural breakthroughs took place in the field of History, Literature, Philosophy, Art, Medicine, Cosmology, Law and Religion.Depending on this,mosques,libraries,fountains,castles,bazaars,inns and baths were built and opened.
The places where the first people live are called as “Hüyük”.When these places didn’ enough for people,they moved next to this places and built villages and towns.Konya was fit for the conditions,so yhese places was occured mostly here.Examples are these places are Kara aslan hüyügü,hasan köy hüyügü,kara hüyügü,pamukcu hüyügü,bayat hüyügü,zoldera hüyügü,dinorna hüyügü,şeyh hasan hüyügü,comaklar hüyügü,boruktolu hüyügü,resil hüyügü,kuyucak hüyügü,panbukcu hüyügü.The most important hüyük is Catal hüyük and the other important one is hatunsaray hüyüğü. Hatunsaray and its vicinity are filled with old architectural works, sculptures and inscription.These works belong to Karamangulları,Seljuks and Bizantines. There are many Greek Latin inscriptions as ornaments on the walls used as building materials in the homes, sculpture heads, inscriptions and stones were used. They were standing in the houses until recently. But now a lot of homes have been destroyed because of the destruction.The other importan hüyük is catalhüyük.It was a neopolitic seetlement place. It was discovered by the great British archaeologist James Mellaart. Scientific excavations are still going on. In this region lies an old and very rich history laid out in places. It is necessary to present this region to the world mankind as soon as possible. In short, this place is a place of open air museum. As a result of the regular and careful excavation, it is estimated that a lot of information about the first people will be reached.
The mosque is in the center of Konya, in the Şemsi Tabrizi neighborhood. It was made 50-60 years ago. There is a wooden minaret on the right side of the glass. The mosque was built instead of the demolished madrasah built by Kadi izzeddinin. it is said that there was an old coin here, while the base is being excavated to make a new mosque instead of this destroyed mosque. This is just a rumor taken from a public. While the excavation continued, the work had been terminated here, taking into account the likelihood of the removal of ancient artifacts bearing art. There is not much digging. When you enter the courtyard door of the mosque, there is a tomb. The mosque is made of mud brick and cut brick and covered with roof.There is still a basement that includes three tombs. it is estimated that many valuable pieces will come out of the museum if detailed investigation and research are done here. It is the elderly people who give us this information.It is said that Kadi İzzeddin,his son and his wife was buried here. It is said that there was a madrasah where there is a mosque. But any sing from Madrasah have not been found so far. Kadi İzzeddin is a statesman who struggles to prevent the collapse and dissolution of the Selcuk and to protect his country.He was a vizier of Selcuks. Mevlana Celaleddin Rumi preached in this mosque.It is the moral value of this mosque..
It is in the city center in Anıt square.It was made by Australian sculptor Heinrich Krippel in 1926. The wheat ears in Atatürk’s monument represent the agricultural activities of Konya and the sword refers to the heroism that the native people showed in Independence War. The monument is made of marble stone
Konya Castle consists of two parts inside and outside walls. Inner wall, that is the wall around Alaaddin Hill was built by II. Kılıçaslan. The outer wall was built by I. Alaeddin Keykubat, but this ruler just repaired the wall that was built by his grandfather. A part of the wreck of the inner castle wall is still on the north-west of Alaaddin hill. The walls of the castle were made with regularly cut stone and mortar. The walls are very thick. It is said that according to the information obtained from the locals of Konya, eggs were used in the Alaaddin pavilion and its inner walls. It is a fact that there is an inner castle surrounding the Konya’s Alaeddin hill. According to the information obtained, the inner castle surrounding the hill was destroyed before the outside did. There is no information about how many gates the inner gate had and how these gates were named. The reason for the construction of the interior and the exterior is that the mongolian danger has appeared on the eastern border of the state. It is known that the inner castle was demolished and rebuilt at various times. Only the places where the old Sultans were buried were not touched. The length of the outer castle is about ten thousand steps.There were tower for every forty steps. The faces of the towers were ten meters long, eight meters thick. The faces of the height are covered with marble slabs. These plates show that many inscriptions were written in various languages. The towers were made with regularly cut stones. Konya Castle is a rich art museum. Konya exterior castle has 12 doors. These are Ertaş Gate, Mevlana Idris Gate, Ring Begüş Door, Aksaray Gate, Teli Gate, At Pazarı Gate, Demirciler Gate, Larende Gate, Deli Gate, Darı Gate, Meram Gate, Yapılı Gate, Çeşme Gate, Ladik Gate, İstanbul Gate, Konya Gate. Taş Gate, Sille Gate, Şam Gate, Yeni Gate, Pul Ahmet Gate, Sultan Gate, ,Pazar Gate and Ayaz Gate. The trenches were hollowed around the castle. They were filled with water. Portable wooden bridges were used to pass through the doors. The bridges were lifted towards the door. Despite such fine processing, as it was not seen as safe by the Sultans of the day, scientists and scholars,they went and stayed Kevele Castle in the face of any force. Now the fortifications of the outer castle have been removed from the center. In some places, bases can be found if excavations are made.